Still Life Studies: Value Sketches


Quick post: After doing a value sketch (limiting the still life to 4 values: light, medium light, medium dark and dark), I wondered how it would apply to easing the panting process. I matched the colors and values to roughly block in the orange and it went great! So, I figured, what’s next? I threw in spoon that just helped me finish off a tub of Blue Bell ice cream, worked for that too. I liked how it was going, so I figured I’d make a theme of it and threw in the sketch pad and white charcoal pencil. Boom. Done. Fun study with a limited palette: Lemon Yellow, Ultramarine Blue, Alizarin Crimson, and Titanium White. Oh, by the way, I finished reading “Bold Strokes” by Mark Weber and it really helped! Great book.

Leave a Reply

