Plein air: Oil paints, part 2

  
After yesterday’s experience painting plein air with water soluble oils, I couldn’t wait to try again. I finally found a prickly pear on the road side near a fence with good backlighting for an ideal composition. I did a quick value study sketch and then dove right in. I noticed the grasses were dull from too many paints mixing, so when I got home, I made up a big pile of light green and smeared it on. Love those thick, juicy brush strokes!

  
I read on Wet Canvas forums an idea of putting two cheap frames together with the wet panels facing inwards, the rubber banding them together. Works perfect as a carrier!

5 thoughts on “Plein air: Oil paints, part 2”

Leave a Reply

