Plein Air: Dana Peak Fishing Area Trail

6x8" acrylic.  This is a rough sketch. Can't wait to get out for another try!
6×8″ acrylic. This is a rough sketch. Can’t wait to get out for another try!

This is quick post before I head out to a welding interview.  After getting some steel toe boots and staring at job listings all day, I saw a chance to get out this area around Stillhouse Lake that I’ve seen before.  There is so much detail out there, I felt it was a good time to study how to simplify a scene into big planes. I lost the light before I finished all the way and tried to add the final smudges of paint at home.  After doing this, however, I can see this really does have a good composition and I can’t wait to get back there for a larger sized plein air painting.

Off to the interview (two-day interview!).  Keep your fingers crossed for me.

 

5 thoughts on “Plein Air: Dana Peak Fishing Area Trail”

  1. Good luck at the interview! This painting is beautiful, well done. My eye is carried back through the paths and warmer tones. Interesting brushwork + color (greens) in the foreground too.

    1. Thanks! I’ll need it if I do my first weld test tomorrow. As for the sketch, have you seen John Poon’s work? His Plein air work is loose, but feels fresh and clean. I bet you’d enjoy his stuff!

Leave a Reply

