Painting at Miller Springs

Plein Air at Miller Springs

Painting at Miller Springs
8×6″ Acrylic. This is a quick plein air at Miller Springs (Belton, TX).

I had a chance to get out to Miller Springs Nature Center to mountain bike the trails and get in some plein air painting.  On a previous hike with the Belton Outdoor Adventure group, I saw a lot of potential for this area with fifty foot limestone cliffs, natural springs, meadows, forests… it has it all.  I didn’t make it far until I parked my bike and set up to paint on a cliff side.  I stood there looking at the views trying to figure out how in a heck to fit all the scene in on a little 6×8″ canvas panelwhen I looked down I saw blocks of the top limestone layer fragmenting off and grass growing up through the crack producing a neat design.  Holding up my thumbs and forefingers into a frame to look at the composition, it looked good with the stones leading into the meadow and beyond.  Plus, I look like some kind of pro to the people passing by thinking, “Wow, he MUST be good if he knows the finger frame thing!”.  Just kidding. I’m sure most of the time parents tell there kids to hurry along and don’t talk to strangers when I do this.

Here’s the initial sketch and a picture reference:

The angle is slightly different from the view when I stand up and the lighting changed. All the more reason to get that initial sketch in at first!

The angle is slightly different from the view when I stand up and the lighting changed. All the more reason to get that initial sketch in at first!

 

Initial sketch to find the design and values.
Initial sketch to find the design and values.
Leave a Reply

