Plein Air at Nolan Creek

"Late Afternoon at Nolan Creek" 8x10 Acrylic
“Late Afternoon at Nolan Creek” 8×10 Acrylic

After reading Kevin McPherson’s “Color and Light” book again (for the tenth time), I was pumped and ready to go find a good stream-side view.  It rained for the first time in at least a month here, so Nolen Creek was up and primed for a painting.  I started around 3pm and painted as much as I could with the fading afternoon light.  With the yellowing sun to my left, it lights up the grassy bank and really grabs the light bark of the foreground with shadows.

reference pic (yep, the grass was actually yellow.  I cheated,.. no, bent the truth.)
reference pic (yep, the grass was actually yellow. I cheated,.. no, bent the truth.)

As soon as that sun went down, it got cold.  I put on a few last touches before heading home to finish.

Last touches before heading home.
Last touches before heading home.

I’m starting to see that I don’t have to travel far to have great spots to paint.  I just need to be a better painter.

Leave a Reply

